Digital activism is the new streetside protest. Instead of standing on a street corner in a small town only reaching the people who drive by and think to read your sign, you are reaching out to the world. Whoever clicks on your link or likes your post can then share and once your ideas get shared there is no stopping the momentum. Because of this, it is important to know what you are posting online and to make sure that you are posting something that you truly believe in and are ready to accept criticism on. Many times that people post online, they do not expect negative feedback and remove their post due to the anger or negative conversation in which it got. For this reason, you need to be sure that you are using digital citizenship online, and focusing on the facts and your own backed opinions rather than impulse.

I think it is great that students and teens are getting involved online and making a difference through digital activism. I once participated in digital activism when I became a part of Runners for Life. This is a team of people who run across the nation to spread awareness for the pro-life cause. The people who did not run (me) were asked to post scriptures and encouraging words online to raise awareness and let pregnant women know that they do not need to fear the unknown and that they have a whole team of people who will welcome their child with open arms and help raise money for the baby. This was a great experience for me because it allowed to get involved and to feel as though I was making a difference.

I love the fact that students are getting active online and using the internet as an overarching tool. One of the articles that I read “The New Face of Teen Activism” was interesting because it discussed all sorts of ways that you can be digitally active. I love the idea of Tumbler. I have always thought that digital activism came through facebook, youtube, or a blog…but I was very wrong. Students are using so many apps and types of social media that they can really reach all crowds. In “My kids, a cause, and our classroom blog” The teacher discusses how she began a classroom blog for her students to post on. This way her students can be active online and still have guidance. Teaching students to navigate their way online and post ethically can lead students to a more digitally active and aware lifestyle.

 

